Read my stuff, it’s important

you know it isn’t, and more importantly I know it isn’t.   But I like sharing my thoughts and some of you enjoy reading/hearing them so off we go.

I’ve said so many times over my career that if you are into sports, really into it, then your life must be pretty good.   If there is nothing more pressing than who won the game last night, or did Alonso hit another one?, well, that day is a winner.

We’re not there now.   You can pretend if you’d like.   Whatever works I’m for.   But I can’t discuss so much unknown and embrace it.   When we get back to competition, there will be plenty of warm up time, for the organizations and the fans.

If nothing else in this unprecedented time globally, wow have  we learned just how sweet and worthy freedom is.   You’re imprisoned in many ways now, especially if, as I hope you do, you feel a responsibility to your fellow man.    Knowing how unpleasant this has been, and how uncertain you are as to the length of  this sentence we are all serving, we are really being tested.

If you’re healthy, and not working on the front lines everyday as so many of our real heroes are, then your sacrifice may seem trivial.   In many ways, perhaps it is, as comparison will always shine a light on those suffering more than we are.  But I’m here to share with you my belief that you’re doing a helluva job right now.   This is not how life was meant to be lived.    This is not how you ever thought you would live.   You don’t know when you’re getting out of this physical and mental jail you’ve been thrown into, and mixed messages are bombarding you from every angle every waking moment.  It’s an awful lot to process.   Maybe give yourself a break.   Dealing day to day is an accomplishment.   And showing your kids how to deal with unexpected prolonged disappointment is a lesson that only this virus gives you an opportunity to teach.

I’m a person who sometimes takes intangibles for granted, although less so than when I was younger.   A great song, a great piece of artwork, a great book, all are meaningful but I can’t really verbalize what about them satisfies me.   I just feel it.   Physical contact is now something that falls into that category.   A hug, a handshake, a high five, all sort of mundane until now.   I miss them.   I want them back.  I bet you do too.

I hope you are healthy.   I hope economically that you are not in such hardship that it overwhelms you.   I hope you can work your way through the  mixed messages and the noise and reach the conclusions that make sense for you.   And I hope that through it all, you’re still happy with the mirror.   If that guy’s giving it his best, even when he doesn’t feel like it, we have hope.   Thanks for reading.

2 Responses to “Read my stuff, it’s important”

  1. Kristin Sirak Says:

    Chris, thank you for taking the time to be honest and open with us. We are all experiencing daily stresses that we don’t have answers for. Miss your radio show very much. The last weeks you were on were some of the best shows you have ever done. Being real. Being honest with where you were and giving those without a voice the chance to talk, to maybe, relieve some anxiety and to know you were listening. Please don’t underestimate what you gave all your listeners whether it was sports, life, or humanity. But especially that precious laugh. Humor is a special gift unto its own. Thank you, Kristin

  2. mooresy Says:

    very kind Kristin. Stay well.

Leave a comment