writing to communicate.

Appreciate you reading, as we all struggle to keep from wasting too much time in an unprecedented period in our lives. Writing is part of coping for me I guess.   Maybe you should try it.     My WFAN shows are suspended for now,  as the station, like the rest of the country, struggles with business decisions.   One of the cathartic parts of being on the air in the format I’m in is being able to share my self with others and have them return the favor.   I feel I’ve built a trust with my audience that is very meaningful to me and if I’m off air for an extended period there will certainly be a void there.

These are difficult times for sure, but if you have someone to share it with, feel blessed.   I was divorced a few years ago after 31 years of marriage  so there has been an adjustment for sure long before this,  but so far the dog has not served any papers and as long as I keep the kibbles coming I’m pretty sure the Quince will stay true.    There are many like me, many who are living alone and isolated somewhat to begin with,  so I’m sharing this in part to reinforce that if you are one of them many recognize that you are not alone, even though physically you often are.

So here we sit.   Unchartered waters for sure, and the struggle between health, politics, wanting to take advantage of the spring weather and the undeniable fear of the unknown have created this imperfect storm, in which each of us has become the captain of our “outlook ship.”   We want to be positive, we want to look ahead, we want to plan, we want light at the end of this dark tunnel, but all of those goals appear to be a difficult barrier.    We’re challenged at every turn, being told what we can and can’t  do, watching our nest egg shrink, feeling powerless against the invisible plague, and having no oasis in which to wait out the storm.  Our income, our families, our plans, all in limbo.    We have never lived this way for an extended time.

I don’t have answers.  I’m not afraid to admit that or understand that.   I’m disgusted with the political environment of this oversized country and the inability of our “leaders” to put empathy over politics.   If challenges reveal our true governmental character then God help us.  Type A leadership, which in my opinion is what we require right now, does not need to be void of empathy.   Americans need hope mixed with reality.   They don’t need campaign promises or to believe that shared sacrifice isn’t necessary.    This sucks; it’s okay to admit what everyone already knows.

It would be tough to live on the planet if you didn’t think most people were inherently good natured.   I still believe that.   I hope you do.   Time will march on.   We will adapt.  We have no choice.   Try and find the good.   Grade yourself internally.   The man in the mirror.   I can do better.   So can you.    Godspeed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “writing to communicate.”

  1. Andrea D Wiener Says:

    SO sorry to read, Chris – in the recent months, i’ve fallen in love with your calming, intelligent style of broadcasting – thank you!

  2. Part-Timer Cuts Bring Mike Francesa And Boomer & Gio To WFAN/CBS Sports Radio Weekend Schedule - RadioInsight Says:

    […] hosts Chris Moore and Richard Neer have mentioned they are currently off the schedule with Moore writing, “my WFAN shows are suspended for now, as the station, like the rest of the country, […]

  3. mooresy Says:

    thanks Andrea, appreciate it.
    stay healthy

  4. poloponyx Says:

    You are one of my favorites on wfan. I hope you will be back fairly soon. Maybe Erica herskowitz will visit you once in a while. Wouldn’t that be great?

  5. David Spellman Says:

    Very sorry to see the news Chris. You are the best and you have gotten me through this hard time so far with your perspective and humor. I wish you the best and I hope for your return to the fan as soon as they balance their books. Your thoughts here were, as usual, insightful and honest.

  6. dablueguy Says:

    Thank you so much Chris. Stay Safe, be well, and Can’t wait until we get to hear your unique insights, and out of the box thinking about the sports we love.

Leave a comment